An Opportunity to Give Back
As you know, the IHSA has recently placed an added emphasis on promoting opportunities for officials in all sports and activities to volunteer their time and skills. For basketball, there are plenty of events scheduled throughout the state over the next few months where your participation would be most appreciated. Whether it's a couple of hours or a full day, whatever you give back to the game that has been so good to you will make a difference for those your serve. Not only will you be providing the participants with the quality officiating they deserve, you'll also help minimize related costs at a time when organizations such as Special Olympics Illinois are faced with dire budget cuts due to the ongoing legislative impasse.

The tournaments, listed by date, are as follows, with contact person and location respectively noted. Hopefully there's one conveniently located near you!

Special Olympics basketball uses IHSA rules with a few adaptations (see attached document). Organizations like these would not be able to run successful events without the great support of volunteers like you. All of your efforts are greatly appreciated!

Training, volunteer shirts, lunch and other hospitalities will be provided at each site. Any help that you can provide will be most appreciated. And it's a guarantee you'll walk away getting more than you put in.

special time
DATE
LOCATION TIME
CONTACT
EMAIL
12/06/15
Hersey H.S. (Arlington Heights) 8am-2pm
Brenden Cannon
bcannon@soill.org
12/13/15
McKendree University (Lebanon) 8am-3pm
Justin Dunning
jdunning@soill.org
12/19/15
Decatur Indoor Sports Complex (Decatur) 8am-3pm
Joanie Dunning
jdunning@soill.org
01/09/16
Unity Jr. High School (Cicero) 9am-2pm
Katie Grisham
kgrisham@soill.org
01/10/16
Cicero and Evergreen Park (TBD) 8am-5pm
Kevin O'Brien & Alice Hoekstra
kobrien@soill.org & ahoekstra@soill.org
01/10/16
Unity Jr. High School (Cicero) 9am-2pm
Katie Grisham
kgrisham@soill.org
01/17/16
Illinois Wesleyan Shirk Center (Bloomington) 8am-6pm
Jill Bertelsen
jbertelsen@soill.org
01/17/16
Hersey High School (Arlington Heights) 8am-5pm
Brenden Cannon
bcannon@soill.org
01/20/16
IIT Keating Center (3040 S. Wabash, Chicago) 10m-2pm
Jacquelin Kogut
jkogut@soill.org
01/21/16
IIT Keating Center (3040 S. Wabash, Chicago) 10m-2pm
Jacquelin Kogut
jkogut@soill.org
01/23/16
NEIU Physical Education Building (5500 N. St. Louis Ave., Chicago) 9am-3pm
Jacquelin Kogut
jkogut@soill.org
01/24/16
West Chicago High School 8:30am-5pm
Amy Kaylor
akaylor@soill.org
01/24/16
Lake Zurich High School 8am-5pm
Brenden Cannon
bcannon@soill.org
01/24/16
Warren High School (Gurnee) 8am-5pm
Brenden Cannon
bcannon@soill.org
01/30/16
Richton Park, Joliet, Oak Lawn, South Holland (TBD) 8am-5pm
Kevin O'Brien & Alice Hoekstra
kobrien@soill.org & ahoekstra@soill.org
01/30/16
Quest Multi Sport (2641 W. Harrison, Chicago) 9am-7pm
Jacquelin Kogut
jkogut@soill.org
01/31/16
Illinois College (Jacksonville) 8am-5pm
Bill Duffy
wgduffy@hotmai.lcom
01/31/16
Wesclin High School (Trenton) 8am-5pm
Justin Dunning
jdunning@soill.org
03/11/16
State Finals (Bloomington and Normal) 8am-5pm
David Shindley
dshindley@soill.org
03/12/16
State Finals (Bloomington and Normal) 8am-5pm
David Shindley
dshindley@soill.org
03/13/16
State Finals (Bloomington and Normal) 8am-5pm
David Shindley
dshindley@soill.org



If you have any questions, please reach out to the respective contact(s). They will be making the schedule for each tournament.

Home